Amazon launches new Kindle lineup with Paperwhite, Colorsoft and Kids models
Amazon has announced a new Kindle lineup with a standard Kindle, Paperwhite, Colorsoft, Kids editions and accessories.
According to Amazon, the new models are thinner, lighter and faster than previous versions. For the Paperwhite and Colorsoft lines, the company also mentions Signature Edition variants with extra premium features.
What happened
Amazon unveiled a refreshed Kindle range just ahead of Prime Big Deal Days. Based on the available information, the new devices and accessories were already available to buy or pre-order through Amazon at the time of the announcement. The reveal is a broad refresh of the e-reader lineup, with multiple variants updated at once rather than a single standalone model.
The lineup includes an Amazon Kindle 16GB for $149.99, a Kindle Kids 16GB for $179.99, a Kindle Paperwhite 16GB, a Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB, a Kindle Colorsoft 16GB and a Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition 32GB. Amazon also lists Kids versions of the Paperwhite and Colorsoft in the pricing information. In the supplied details, the Kindle Kids Paperwhite 16GB is priced at $229.99 and the Kindle Kids Colorsoft 16GB at $299.99.
For the Paperwhite models, the source lists an availability date of October 28, 2026. The Colorsoft variants are listed at $289.99 for the standard version and $319.99 for the Signature Edition. With this launch, Amazon is not only introducing a new entry-level Kindle, but also multiple higher-priced options within the same product family.
Amazon says the new generation of Kindle devices is thinner, lighter and faster than earlier models. The source also says older Kindle models are being discounted, although no exact discount amounts are given. The source mentions an Amazon Kindle Click for $34.99 as well, but does not specify which accessories were announced or how they relate to the different Kindle models.
Timeline
2026-10-01: Amazon announces a new Kindle lineup with standard models, Paperwhite, Colorsoft, Kids editions and accessories.
2026-10-01: The new Kindle devices and accessories are reportedly available to buy or pre-order through Amazon immediately.
2026-10-01: Amazon lists the Kindle 16GB at $149.99, the Kindle Kids 16GB at $179.99 and the Kindle Click at $34.99.
2026-10-01: The pricing list also includes the Kindle Paperwhite 16GB, Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB, Kindle Colorsoft 16GB and Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition 32GB.
2026-10-01: Amazon also lists Kids variants of the Paperwhite and Colorsoft, priced at $229.99 and $299.99 respectively.
2026-10-28: The Kindle Paperwhite 16GB and Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB are scheduled to become available.
Background
The new Kindle generation expands Amazon's e-reader lineup with multiple variants per model. In the supplied information, Amazon also mentions Kids Editions and Signature Editions, with prices ranging from $34.99 for the Kindle Click accessory to $319.99 for the Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition 32GB. That puts Amazon on both entry-level models, kid-focused editions and pricier versions with extra features.
The source also mentions an Amazon Kindle Click for $34.99, but does not specify which accessories were announced. The exact differences between the standard, Kids and Signature Edition models are also not fully broken down in the available information. What is clear is that Amazon is offering the Paperwhite and Colorsoft lines in multiple versions, including 16GB and 32GB configurations. The available information also says older Kindle models are being discounted, but without specific percentages or amounts.
Amazon is positioning the new range as a hardware update with a lighter and faster design. The combination of new models and price cuts on older Kindle versions fits the launch window around Prime Big Deal Days. The timing matters because Amazon made the announcement just ahead of that sales period, and the new devices were already available through its store or offered as pre-orders at the time.
The supplied source also contains an unclear reference to “Col”, but based on the available information it cannot be confirmed whether that refers to Colorsoft or another product mention. For that reason, this write-up sticks to the explicitly named Kindle Colorsoft models and the listed price points. Without additional source text, it is also not possible to confirm the full feature-by-feature differences between the standard, Kids and Signature Edition models.
Sources
- IGN: Amazon launches a new line of Kindles and accessories (October 2026)